Overwatch Contenders: Roster Change


Alt text

Overwatch Contenders: Roster Change


We're finally seeing some movement from Blizzard Entertainment to give Overwatch the competitive push it needs. The Overwatch Contenders has been announced, and is already underway: Contenders will act as the minor league for the premier Overwatch League itself. We've signed up to Season Zero of the European side of the league, the qualifiers of which will kick off on Sunday, for the chance to enter the Overwatch Contenders league, with $50,000 in prize money. We're in good company actually, as most of the European elite have signed up for the qualifier, including  Ninjas in Pyjamas,  Misfits,  eUnited,  Movistar Riders, as well as our friends from  Event Horizon will be participating.

Regrettably, we have had to make some changes to the roster, after having a stable lineup for the past few events. The two brothers from Marsaxlokk,  Scott 'Noname' Vella, and  Gary 'R1k' Vella (the latter being our back-up player), have decided to leave the team, with Scott joining up with an international team to continue playing the game competitively. We'd like to thank both of these extremely talented players, and we wish them the very best of luck on their next journey!

We're replacing Scott with one of the best DPS players in Malta,  Cyril 'Vortex' Coppini, whose performance with  The Underdogs during the MRO Overwatch Open impressed many. Cyril joins us from  The Elite, and has fit in very well with the team in the current meta.

Cyril has given us the following statement:

"I've always been a highly competitive person at heart, and the atmosphere throughout the MRO Overwatch Open has had me really pumped up since, so I'm delighted to be joining a team like Eversio who like me, share the passion to compete and win! I'm very much looking forward to the next local competition, and I hope one is announced soon. In the meantime, we practice, practice and practice."

EVERSIO.Overwatch is now as follows:
 Clinton 'Cin' Caruana - Leader/Support
 Daniel 'Deathrow' Gatt - Tank
 Alan 'Serenity' Ciantar - Support
 Wayne 'Reed' Reed - DPS 
 Marco 'PK' Bugeja - DPS
 Cyril 'Vortex' Coppini - DPS